You Are Here:
Toolkit Contents
International cooperation
Other regional cooperations

Other regional cooperations

Edited by Axel Leblois, Executive Director, G3ict 

National Information Society Agency (NIA) was launched in May 2009 as the Korea Agency for Digital Opportunity and Promotion (KADO) and National Information Society Agency (NIA) merged together under the Korean government’s public sector restructuring plan. The role of the reorganized agency is to continue in advancing and activating the world-class knowledge information infrastructure to a higher level, bridging the digital divide and preventing the adverse effects which may occur during the process, and improving information culture.

The United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN ESCAP) is the regional development arm of the United Nations for the Asia-Pacific region. With a membership of 62 Governments, 58 of which are in the region, and a geographical scope that stretches from Turkey in the west to the Pacific island nation of Kiribati in the east, and from the Russian Federation in the north to New Zealand in the south, ESCAP is the most comprehensive of the United Nations five regional commissions. It is also the largest United Nations body serving the Asia-Pacific region with over 600 staff.

UN ESCAP established in 2002 the Biwako Framework on “Promoting an inclusive, barrier-free and rights-based society for people with disabilities in the Asian and Pacific region in the twenty-first century” which includes specific guidelines for ICT accessibility (article 6). It also extended the Asian and Pacific Decade of Disabled Persons, 1993-2002, for another decade, 2003-2012. UN ESCAP has jointly organized with KADO a regional Asian workshop on Enhancement of ICT Accessibility for Persons with Disabilities (PWDs) (September 29 to October 2, 2008), which produced the Recommendation for Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Accessibility Guideline for Persons with Disabilities.

Dynamic Coalition on Accessibility and Disability
: Following an International Telecommunication Union's Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) workshop on accessibility in 2007 at the Internet Governance Forum (IGF) in Rio, a Dynamic Coalition on Accessibility and Disability (DCAD) has been established by ITU-T. The DCAD facilitates interaction between relevant bodies and ensures that Information and Communications Technologies (ICT) accessibility and tools to facilitate it are included in the key debates around Internet governance.

G3ict, Global Initiative for Inclusive Information and Communication Technologies, is a flagship advocacy initiative of UN-GAID, the United Nations Global Alliance for ICT and Development. Formed in December 2006, G3ict is a non-profit organization exclusively dedicated to facilitating the implementation around the world of the Digital Accessibility provisions of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. It is supported by Industry, Disabled Persons Organizations, Academia, International Standards Development Organizations and Public Sector entities in charge of promoting e-Accessibility in their respective regions or countries. Since the adoption of the Convention in December 2006, G3ict has organized or been involved with 38 conference and capacity building sessions for policy makers and e-Accessibility stakeholders. Its website contains a database of case studies, countries, and corporations involved in e-Accessibility. As of April 2009, its online library of books and reports on e-Accessibility technology, policies and programs has registered 14,586 downloads since its inception in December 2007 including 2,000 copies of “The Accessibility Imperative”. It publishes the “Digital Accessibility World Report” available free of charge to all e-Accessibility stakeholders. G3ict is the co-producer with the ITU of this Toolkit.

POETA – Partnership in Opportunities for Employment through Technology in the Americas Location: Argentina, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Mexico and Panama. The Partnership in Opportunities for Employment through Technology in the Americas (POETA) is a joint venture between Microsoft and the Organization of American States (OAS) providing technology job retraining and job placement assistance to youth and adults with disabilities at centers located throughout Latin America. POETA benefits approximately 12,500 people directly each year. To date, The Trust for the Americas has thirty-nine operational POETA centers in the following Latin American countries: Argentina, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Peru, and Venezuela.

Country Profiles – G3ict maintains a detailed database on the signatory states of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. In this section, you can find a list of disability organizations, with contact information, for each of the signatory states, as well as basic ICT factors.